Skip to content

Take a Break with Forrest Gump

April 18, 2005

Now what do you do after you exhaust yourself in cleaning up your home. Take a break, that’s what I did after cleaning up the blog, I took break and went out with an idiot, into his world, his life and could not stop wondering is he an idiot or we are an idiots, it really helps bein an idiot, then you don’t think too much and overburden your brain with junk thoughts, being an idiot people don’t expect much from you and you can always deliver more than their expectations for you know how to work with passion. You don’t care much about what people think of your actions. You never fall into arguments with others for you can safely skip them saying: “I do I know, after all I am an idiot.” Other lessons ranging from grabbing opportunity, turning tides into your favor, doing the right thing at right time and innovation are simply dealt by Winston Groom in this satire. I wonder if we are an idiot that we spend so much time reading self help and management books to learn those simple lessons. It’s a must read for present and future managers. Here I am reproducing the first and the last paragraph from the book along with a favorite quote of Forrest.

  • Let me say this: bein a idiot is no box of chocolates. People laugh, lose patience, treat you shabby. Now they says folks sposed to be kind to afflicted, but let me tell you – it ain’t always that way. even so, I got no complaints, cause I reckon I done live a pretty interesting life, so to speak.
  • I been idiot since I was born. …..
  • I got to pee….
  • But let me tell you this: sometimes at night, when I look up at the stars, an see the whole sky jus laid out there, dont you think I aint rememberin i t all. I still got dreams like anybody else, an ever so oftern, I am thinking about how things might of been. An then, all of a sudden, I’m forty, fifty, sixty years ole, you know?
  • Well, so what? I may be a idiot, but most the time, anyway, I tried to do the right thing – an dreams is jus dreams, ain’t they? So whatever else has happened, I am figgerein this: I can always look back an say, at least I ain’t led no hum-drum life.
  • You know what I mean?

Also read about related book

4 Comments leave one →
  1. popat permalink
    April 18, 2005 9:51 pm

    Get me this book when you coming 2 delhi…hope its not too voluminous!!
    And why is ur post talk about must read for present n future managers! Khali managers ko hi zarurat hai kya? Even the above post talks abt managers!! kya hua bhai??

  2. April 19, 2005 5:14 am

    hmmm its just that we have so many managers in our group from future and present managers i mean you sachin and vineet … by the way i hav mentioned as …managers and in fact every human being …..

  3. popat permalink
    April 19, 2005 8:48 am

    Isn’t every human being a manager…Managing his/her own life! Think that’s the toughest management task for anyone!
    As you said “If you understand urself, you understand the entire world”, so in the same way “If you can manage yourself, then you can manage anyone”…

  4. April 19, 2005 1:12 pm

    hmmm … now you want to play with the words… if I said managers i just wanted to upgrade you ppl from guys to managers and in tht paramjeet and Vineet are present ones while you and Sachin are would be Managers …

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet Tweet

  • Poke the Tag

    2008-2009 A thousand splendid suns Australia avanoo avanoo foundation blog blogger blogs books Brand Recall browser business. collaboration college comments creative me creativity Davos dreams facebook Fraud fun gifts google google chrome gyaan hands on Happy new year ideas Indian Railways innovation inspiration Insurance intro IT leadership life love magic marketing monster nature network nostalgic opinions passion pearls personal pixie plastic waste ponder proto08 proto4 proto Day1 proto day2 Proto July question questions quotes Raju Satyam Satyam Fraud 2009 she shouts social media squidoo sydney Sydney Harbour Bridge TED Thoughts Vimlendu web2.0 web3.0 weird wordpress world Economic forum
  • Choose your topic

  • Yo’re Reading this

  • you said it

    Tears? - FlyNava Blo… on Movie that made me cry
    So, what’s sto… on Let It Flow
    Ready to embrace it?… on Are you *IN LOVE*?
    reevesbarron28241 on What, Why and How of Social…
    Try this website on Private RSS feeds – Any…
  • Piling up

  • You were here

  • Admin

