Skip to content

New Beginning…

October 19, 2005

It’s been three months now, since I came back from air force academy …. Six long months comprising of admission process, and then weighing pros and cons of getting into defense service… I reluctantly choose to raise the rudder up and sail through the journey called life… but it was not long enough that I realized this is not the way I wanted it to be; few days at the academy … it was fun time …. Getting up early in the morning, running up whole day and not a moment to think!! All the ingredients of good living, health, academics, respect …. You name it and defense job has it …. But … there’s nothing called free lunch in this world and so is the case with defense too… I realized the same when it was time to fill up the bond papers … reading that bond paper, it wasn’t that I wasn’t aware of the terms and conditions but … first this was the last time to read the thing, I had to really sign them and take the oath to serve for minimum of 20 years. I admit that before coming to this place I thought of my stint as a launch pad … work for 5 to 6 years have good work experience and then go out in civil life … as was also suggested by some of the retired air force personnel that its easy to get out … But after reading air force law and the terms and conditions in the academics classes … I realized the gravity of being a defense officer …. And what does it mean to be an air warrior. First and foremost it is not a JOB … it is a SERVICE and you are not there to use it as a ladder to achieve your career goals. I spent next few days contemplating on the issue based on my new experience and mind it … a day at academy was making me (read my parents) poorer every day … it was costing me Rupees 2000 for a day at academy …. Here I should be really grateful to my parents who always stood beside me … and still supporting my whims. (As a matter of fact my dad was against my decision to join the service.) After taking into account all the factors I decided to take voluntary withdrawal … put my application ( this was the second time I put up my application to withdraw … previously on second day I put them up, but one of my senior asked me to take it back and give it a thought from cool mind …. And not to go in for impulsive decision as this… and I took it back to spend some more days!). Completed the bureaucratic process and exit interviews … and bidding bye to the academy I was out in civil life.

Why I am writing this? Two reasons, one that I have not posted for quiet a long time but what forced me to write this post is an incidence that happened last Sunday, I met a guy who had similar plans of joining service for five years and then come out as an officer, to take up a position in upper level management in some MNC ( and mind it … this was the attitude of many undergoing training at academy …some of the seniors even went as far as calling me Mad to leave just coz of this petty issue of bond; this is what he has to say, “ You gone mad, and do you think that we going to serve for 20 years, nay, we will work for maximum of 5 to 6 years and then out, leaving our country in the hands of these aged officers!!). I shared my experience with this guy whom I met on Sunday and advised him to give it a thought to his plans, based on these premises. If by mistake somebody going through such dilemma land up at my blog (!!) and if he is able to get hold of this post (now I am stretching it too far!!) and further he decide to read it …. I am sure he will give second thoughts to his plans and make up his mind to join service …. For as the name suggest don’t take it as another job opportunity …. It’s a service.

Now, when I have started posting, you can hope to see more of my posts in coming days … I am planning to revive some of my ole classics and write some new!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet Tweet

  • Poke the Tag

    2008-2009 A thousand splendid suns Australia avanoo avanoo foundation blog blogger blogs books Brand Recall browser business. collaboration college comments creative me creativity Davos dreams facebook Fraud fun gifts google google chrome gyaan hands on Happy new year ideas Indian Railways innovation inspiration Insurance intro IT leadership life love magic marketing monster nature network nostalgic opinions passion pearls personal pixie plastic waste ponder proto08 proto4 proto Day1 proto day2 Proto July question questions quotes Raju Satyam Satyam Fraud 2009 she shouts social media squidoo sydney Sydney Harbour Bridge TED Thoughts Vimlendu web2.0 web3.0 weird wordpress world Economic forum
  • Choose your topic

  • Yo’re Reading this

  • you said it

    Tears? - FlyNava Blo… on Movie that made me cry
    So, what’s sto… on Let It Flow
    Ready to embrace it?… on Are you *IN LOVE*?
    reevesbarron28241 on What, Why and How of Social…
    Try this website on Private RSS feeds – Any…
  • Piling up

  • You were here

  • Admin

