Skip to content

Happy Diwali

November 11, 2007

What kept me busy this Diwali

Break the locks
My laptop simply refused to get charged up … It needed a much needed break … came running to my ole comp … it was simply in bad shape … taking ages to boot or even run programs… after much of frustration and as they say to clean up things on Diwali …. I decided to dismantle everything and clean it up … Delicate were the pins of the processor fan which could not bear the pressure I applied and lo! I ended up breaking the locks!! Now I ran to buy new locks alas! They don’t keep it here … and moreover nobody ever break them!! Hats off Sid you did something really different!

Local guy Local Jugad (innovative workaround)
I had no option but to save my ass and soul …. And make it up and running before Diwali evening … so I forced local guy to think of some workaround … after some nay nah … he came up with simple innovative workaround to use screws and some other stuff from his scrap and install the fan !! Hats off to Pradeep (local guy!!) you did something really different.

This adventure took my morning and noon and I was totally enervated, so asked him to put in place other things and replace the faulty optical drive too!! Back home I formatted and installed the OS and things were pretty in place now.

I could hook up to virtual world and shivi could watch movies now!!

Celebration time!!
Now it was late in evening and I took my morning bath and did my bit of helping family in pooja … lighten up candles and diyas …. Fired some phuljari and phirkis …. It is after years that I fired crackers … I was in full mood and enjoyed jumping in the sparkles of phirki it was fun….

Feast …
Well two things here … one that I got approval as a good chef … Day before Diwali I treated my parents and shivi with sambhar … you got to believe it when is say that it was awesome you got to eat it to experience it. Now I have full confidence on my cooking skills!!

Second … Diwali means loads of sweets …. And other dishes …no matter how much I resolve… I end up eating tons of it … man I cant say no to hot home cooked gulab jamuns!!

Down the drain went all my effort I have been putting in gym for the past one month. Let’s start from square one again!! Its Diwali after all!!

Movies
Thanks to my hard work …. Comp was running … and at around 11pm electricity was back (interestingly there was power cut during Diwali too!!) so we all sat to watch two movies Johnny Gaddar and Laga Chunri mein Daag … both were just good to be seen once … by this time it was 4 am !! And I was hungry again!! With mom and dad fast asleep … I treated myself with all the leftovers in kitchen… poori, gobhi, rice, gulabjamuns …everything I gulped everything!! Convinced shivi to make tea …. She made one …however by this time I went to deep sleep ….

Btw Happy Diwali 🙂 what you did this Diwali?

Sad … no camera to capture these moments in images 😦

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet Tweet

  • Poke the Tag

    2008-2009 A thousand splendid suns Australia avanoo avanoo foundation blog blogger blogs books Brand Recall browser business. collaboration college comments creative me creativity Davos dreams facebook Fraud fun gifts google google chrome gyaan hands on Happy new year ideas Indian Railways innovation inspiration Insurance intro IT leadership life love magic marketing monster nature network nostalgic opinions passion pearls personal pixie plastic waste ponder proto08 proto4 proto Day1 proto day2 Proto July question questions quotes Raju Satyam Satyam Fraud 2009 she shouts social media squidoo sydney Sydney Harbour Bridge TED Thoughts Vimlendu web2.0 web3.0 weird wordpress world Economic forum
  • Choose your topic

  • Yo’re Reading this

  • you said it

    Tears? - FlyNava Blo… on Movie that made me cry
    So, what’s sto… on Let It Flow
    Ready to embrace it?… on Are you *IN LOVE*?
    reevesbarron28241 on What, Why and How of Social…
    Try this website on Private RSS feeds – Any…
  • Piling up

  • You were here

  • Admin

