Skip to content

1st Jan 2009

January 3, 2009

After Sydney Harbor Bridge Fireworks, next on agenda was to capture the sunrise, the first sun of 2009. After committing that blunder at harbor I was in no mood to miss this one. So right after harbor fireworks i came back to my base and charged the batteries 🙂

Three Attempts

Further, this would be my fourth attempt to capture sunrise at Bondi Beach.  First could not materialize for bad weather. For second attempt  I missed the early morning train and by the time I could reach half way to Bondi Mr Sun was up above my head and I came back without even going to Bondi. For Third attempt  I could Just manage to reach Bondi, I was again beaten by Mr Sun and he was well above the sea and fiercely teasing me! I wasn’t able to time it! in spite of leaving home at 4 am I wasn’t able to beat him! You can check pics of that day Here. It also has some interesting pics of  some old ads clicked at Museum station.

IMG_2229.JPG

Fourth Attempt

So on 1st Jan 2009 it was my fourth attempt to race with Mr Sun and in no way i was in mood to be beaten, I again managed to miss early morning train and in no way I can think of cathing next train which was due after half an hour. So, I took a cab. People were returning home (i hope so!), after boozing and partying whole night some of them were really crazy out there! breaking bottles and screaming F words! However it was a fast and pleasant journey to Bondi. My Cabbie an aged Iranian was a civil engineer by degree and now pursuing his part time masters in structrual engineering! with great interest in Politics and economics. He told me that during Iranian revolution he had developed strong interest in politics and to be good in politics I keep following economics too. He quickly told me his views on economic crisis and then about Amartya Sen that he is an Indian who won Nobel prize and then he was telling me about another one winning nobel prize for his model of  micro finance for women in Bangladesh …I helped him with the name of Mohd Yunus and by this time I had reached Beach paid my bill exchanged greetings and walked towards my “sandy” destination.

Sunrise

I was well ahead of Mr Sun, though he was making his presence felt by the orange tint far away in the sea.

IMG_2666.JPG ]

Like a winner I parked myself on a rock, mounted my camera and waited for him to appear. Then the wow moment came when he slowly appeared as if coming out of the sea and going into the clouds, magnificent it was. Finally coming out of the clouds into the sky. Today it seems to be smiling with me and celebrating my success of capturing it on new year 🙂

IMG_2672.JPG IMG_2676.JPG IMG_2680.JPG

IMG_2681.JPG IMG_2685.JPG IMG_2691.JPG

Check out complete set and an inspiring pic of Painter at the beach in following album

Mission Complete
After this I had forgotten about all my earlier Blunders (as in last post) and before leaving for home i caught for some sleep at the rock in early morning sunlight. Perfect way to start your year!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2009 3:03 pm

    Not a bad start at all.. Sun rise rocks..Man …no place in SG for a nice sunrise!!

  2. Dipika permalink
    January 6, 2009 9:35 am

    happy new year!!!!
    wonder when will i really have that urge to wake up early and catch a glimpse of the sunrise! or maybe-not sleep the entire night-should be easier 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. links for 2009-01-04 « Unjustly

Leave a Reply

  • Tweet Tweet

  • Poke the Tag

    2008-2009 A thousand splendid suns Australia avanoo avanoo foundation blog blogger blogs books Brand Recall browser business. collaboration college comments creative me creativity Davos dreams facebook Fraud fun gifts google google chrome gyaan hands on Happy new year ideas Indian Railways innovation inspiration Insurance intro IT leadership life love magic marketing monster nature network nostalgic opinions passion pearls personal pixie plastic waste ponder proto08 proto4 proto Day1 proto day2 Proto July question questions quotes Raju Satyam Satyam Fraud 2009 she shouts social media squidoo sydney Sydney Harbour Bridge TED Thoughts Vimlendu web2.0 web3.0 weird wordpress world Economic forum
  • Choose your topic

  • Yo’re Reading this

  • you said it

    Tears? - FlyNava Blo… on Movie that made me cry
    So, what’s sto… on Let It Flow
    Ready to embrace it?… on Are you *IN LOVE*?
    reevesbarron28241 on What, Why and How of Social…
    Try this website on Private RSS feeds – Any…
  • Piling up

  • You were here

  • Admin

